Makes 4 Servings
Dessert

Ingredients

Sour Cherry and Brown Butter Crumble
  • Marco Polo Sour Cherries in Syrup, 1 jar, 24oz., drained of their juice - should be about 2 cups drained cherries,/marco-polo-sour-cherries-syrup
  • Cherry Juice, 1/2 Cup, reserved,,,
  • Tamek Sour Cherry Jam, 1 jar, 13oz.,,/tamek-sour-cherry-jam
  • Kudzu Root Starch, 2, Tablespoons, dissolved in 2 tablespoons reserved cherry juice,/kudzu-root-starch
  • Black & Boylard Original Brown Butter, 6, Tablespoons,,/black-boylard-original-brown-butter
  • Blanched Hazelnuts, 6, Tablespoons, coarsely chopped,/blanched-hazelnuts
  • Powdered Jaggery, 1/4, Cup,,/powdered-jaggery
  • Oat Flour, 1/4, Cup,,/oat-flour
  • Roasted Hazelnut Flour, 1/4, Cup,,/roasted-hazelnut-flour
  • Salt, 1/2, Teaspoon,,,
Expand All
Add All

Sour Cherry & Hazelnut Crumble

This dessert is easy to whip up when you are craving sweet summer cherries and the warm summer breeze.  The jarred sour cherries are topped with a buttery, toasted hazelnut crumble, your guests will surely be pleased and begging for seconds!

And if you have leftover cherry juice like we did, make an excellent refreshing spritzer spiked with vodka, a twist of lime and serve over ice.

Ingredients from our pantry include Tamek Sour Cherry Jam, roasted hazelnut flour, kuzu starch, jarred sour cherries and blanched hazelnuts.
Written By Megan Fwan Schlow | Feb 09, 2021

Ingredients

Sour Cherry and Brown Butter Crumble
  • Marco Polo Sour Cherries in Syrup, 1 jar, 24oz., drained of their juice - should be about 2 cups drained cherries,/marco-polo-sour-cherries-syrup
  • Cherry Juice, 1/2 Cup, reserved,,,
  • Tamek Sour Cherry Jam, 1 jar, 13oz.,,/tamek-sour-cherry-jam
  • Kudzu Root Starch, 2, Tablespoons, dissolved in 2 tablespoons reserved cherry juice,/kudzu-root-starch
  • Black & Boylard Original Brown Butter, 6, Tablespoons,,/black-boylard-original-brown-butter
  • Blanched Hazelnuts, 6, Tablespoons, coarsely chopped,/blanched-hazelnuts
  • Powdered Jaggery, 1/4, Cup,,/powdered-jaggery
  • Oat Flour, 1/4, Cup,,/oat-flour
  • Roasted Hazelnut Flour, 1/4, Cup,,/roasted-hazelnut-flour
  • Salt, 1/2, Teaspoon,,,
Expand All
Add All
  1.  Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place a sauce pan over medium heat and add the entire jar of cherry jam, kudzu starch mixture and the remaining reserved cherry juice. Cook for 5-7 minutes stirring frequently until thickened. 

  3. Pour the thickened mixture over the drained sour cherries and give it a mix.  Spread the mixture into an 8 x 9-inch baking dish and set aside while you make the crumble mixture.

  4. Add the chopped hazelnuts, brown butter, jaggery, oat flour, roasted hazelnut flour and salt into a mixing bowl. Combine with your fingers or a pastry cutter until coarse crumbles and pea sized clumps form.

  5. Top the cherry mixture with the hazelnut crumble mixture and place in the oven. Bake for 50-60 minutes until the top is golden brown and the filling is bubbling.

  6. Serve warm with vanilla bean whipped cream or ice cream.